We are mom-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn a commission.

Vermont Car Seat Laws in 2020


According to Vermont’s Child Restraint Systems Law, a child under one year old or weighing less than twenty pounds must be properly restrained in a rear-facing position and properly secured in a federally approved child passenger restraining system which is not installed in front of an active air bag when being transported in a motor vehicle on public highways. 

A child between one and seven years old and weighing at least twenty pounds must be properly restrained in a federally approved child passenger restraining system when being transported in a motor vehicle on public highways. A child between eight and seventeen years old must be properly restrained in a federally approved child passenger restraining system or a federally approved safety belt system when being transported in or operating a motor vehicle on public highways.

Babies and Children Up to One Year Old or Less Than Twenty Pounds

A child under one year old or weighing less than twenty pounds must be properly restrained in a rear-facing position and must be properly secured in a federally approved child passenger restraining system which is not installed in front of an active air bag when being transported in a motor vehicle on Vermont’s public highways.

Children One to Seven Years Old and At Least Twenty Pounds

A child between one and seven years old and weighing at least twenty pounds must be properly restrained in a federally approved child passenger restraining system when being transported in a motor vehicle on Vermont’s public highways.

Children Eight to Seventeen Years Old

A child between eight and seventeen years old must be properly restrained in a federally approved child passenger restraining system or a federally approved safety belt system when being transported in or operating a motor vehicle on Vermont’s public highways.

Penalties for Violations

You may be fined $25.00 for a first violation of Vermont’s Child Restraint Systems Law.  You may be fined $50.00 for a second violation of Vermont’s Child Restraint Systems Law. You may be fined $100.00 for a third or subsequent violation of Vermont’s Child Restraint Systems Law.

Exemptions

Your child may be exempt from Vermont’s Child Restraint Systems Law if he or she is being transported in a type I school bus.

Your child may be exempt from Vermont’s Child Restraint Systems Law if he or she is being transported in or operating a motor vehicle which is regularly used to transport passengers for hire, except for a motor vehicle owned or operated by a child care facility.

Your child may be exempt from Vermont’s Child Restraint Systems Law if he or she is being transported in or operating a motor vehicle which was manufactured without safety belts.

Your child may be exempt from Vermont’s Child Restraint Systems Law if he or she has been ordered by, or is being transported by a person who has been ordered by, an enforcement officer, a firefighter, or an authorized civil authority to evacuate persons from a stricken area.

* Ms. Blake is licensed in the state of Maryland. The information provided in this article does not constitute legal advice and does not create an attorney-client relationship.

Attorney Denise A. Blake* on Linkedin
Attorney Denise A. Blake*
Attorney Denise A. Blake*
Denise practices family law at Blake Law, LLC in Westminster, Maryland. She holds a Juris Doctor with an emphasis in Family Law from the University of Baltimore School of Law.